Home > Now I Understand, Singapore Scene > Now I Understand

Now I Understand

Now I understand

It took me awhile, but I think I finally understand.

I understand that only those with the potential to be the top 1000 earners in Singapore are good enough to be our ministers.

I understand that the identification of these individuals rests on the able shoulders of my leaders. Hence whether the selected contests in an SMC or a GRC – it does not matter – they are the best candidates for the job. I must take your word for it.

I understand that my leaders’ ability to identify suitable candidates is so good, that I must accept that there is an almost 100% likelihood of the selected candidates reaching their potential. This must surely be so because I must accept giving them astronomical salaries befitting top earners before they prove their potential.

I understand that this thing about money is not about the current team. Just like when it was first mooted it was not about the team then. It is really about some other potential MPs or potential ministers who have not surfaced.

I understand that meritocracy is measured in dollars and cents. If you ain’t got the dollar, you ain’t got the merit.

I understand that the sacrifice public servants make can be compensated by money. I always thought that it was priceless.

I understand that while it is not about the money, yet according to Gerard Ee, capable people cannot be moved if the figure is less than $1m per annum. I wonder what this means. Does it mean that the two guiding principles for the committee was firstly to peg it to the top earners and secondly to come up with $1m using percentages? Is my understanding flawed again?

Now I understand that my mathematical logic is quite skewed. I had always thought that the civil service represents, fairly closely, the make-up of the working population. After all they employ cleaning ladies and office boys at one end, and superscale officers on the other. Hence, I thought, obviously wrongly, that the top 1.2% of the civil service may quite closely mirror the top 1.2% of the working population. But DPM Teo says this is quite the same as the top 0.06% of the working population of Singapore. 1.2% is 20 times 0.06%. But they are roughly the same. I wonder if instead of earning $60 000 a month, earning $3000 a month is roughly the same – also 20 times difference only what?

I also understand that the final figure is more important than the process of getting there. After all, the WP final monthly salary figure is very similar to the one proposed by the committee and accepted by the PAP. Can we please tell the Maths teachers in school to just mark the final answers and forget about the working? It will save them a lot of time!

I understand that we should just look at the final monthly wage figure, and ignore the differences in the bonus proposals. If this number is acceptable, then no point arguing about whether we should set a bonus maximum at 5 months or 13 months.

I understand that we must view minimum salary for ministers and minimum wages for the workers differently. The former makes sure we have a well run country that makes it possible for the citizens to enjoy a life free from worries. The latter will wreak financial havoc in the country.

There are many more things I finally understand – but I really don’t feel like writing about them anymore. It makes me feel stupid.

To quote the song, “Vincent”

Now I understand what you tried to say to me 

And how you suffered for your sanity
How you tried to set them free
They would not listen, they did not know how
Perhaps they’ll listen now

 To sum this up: it’s never been about you understanding me. It’s always been about me understanding you.

I understand now!

  1. January 20, 2012 at 3:11 am

    This is a good write-up. Any chance of publishing this on TRE?
    🙂

    • SpeakSpokeWriteWrote
      January 20, 2012 at 4:01 am

      ok for this one kojak, i think!! haha

      • January 20, 2012 at 4:08 am

        ok great! 🙂

  2. Hsq
    January 20, 2012 at 5:43 am

    Thanks for your right on. U are spot on regarding this ! Hv a blessed cny and keep on writing.

    I need to stay sane by reading your blog 🙂

    • SpeakSpokeWriteWrote
      January 20, 2012 at 7:53 am

      sometimes i have to write to keep sane myself. in this case, it got me sort of depressed actually. thanks and happy cny to you too.

  3. January 22, 2012 at 4:33 am
  4. February 28, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    Wish some of the 60+% of daft read this write-out. You are good – I salute you.

  1. January 20, 2012 at 12:58 pm

Leave a Reply

